Using Social Media in the Job Search

Image

I recently ran the InMaps facility on LinkedIn to see what my network looks like. Not surprisingly, the big blue section is comprised of people associated with job seekers (coaches, recruiters and job seekers). I really started building my LinkedIn connections when I became active in Southlake Focus, a networking group for job seeking professionals. These people tend to have many more LinkedIn contacts and to be more interconnected than the general population. Southlake Focus attendees tend to connect with other Southlake Focus attendees.  With no fewer than 200 people in attendance each week, and as many as 400, the group is fairly large. Therefore, a large, dense blue bubble.

The other major section, the red area on the right, are the people associated with FireWire. I was the industry marketing person for FireWire for 15 years. Those are the people I tended to network with prior to Southlake Focus.

View original post 341 more words

